Home Travel 35 Countries With HIV Travel Bans

35 Countries With HIV Travel Bans



The Countries With HIV Travel Bans.

Travel for HIV-positive persons has been a contentious issue. Many nations used to have limitations on whether or not someone with HIV could travel.

Fortunately, many countries throughout the world have abolished their HIV travel restrictions, and the ones that still have limitations are largely for longer-term stays for education, job, or immigration.

The Obama administration repealed the travel ban in 2010, therefore there are no longer any limitations for HIV-positive persons travelling to the United States.

This page will identify the nations that do have limitations in place, followed by some advice on what you should know about travelling with HIV.

HIV Travel Ban Countries and Travelling with HIV

Some nations still have HIV travel restrictions in effect. They are as follows:

  1.  Aruba – There are no limits on short-term tourist trips, although there are on employment and resident licenses.
  2.  Australia – There are no limitations for visitors. Permanent resident visa applicants, on the other hand, shall be assessed and considered in accordance with immigration standards for any chronic health disorders that necessitate significant treatment costs.
  3.  Azerbaijan – To be eligible for an e-visa, applicants must be HIV-negative.
  4.  Bahrain – Tourists face no limitations, but anyone seeking residency will be deported if they test positive for HIV.
  5.  Bangladesh – There are no admission restrictions, but if the authorities learn of your HIV+ status, you may be deported.
  6.  Bhutan – Travelers travelling for less than two weeks have no limitations, while stays of more than two weeks are only authorized with documentation of a recent negative HIV test.
  7.  Brunei – People who have been diagnosed with HIV are not authorized to enter Brunei. Testing is required for all student, employment, and residence permits, and positive instances will result in deportation. Short-term visitors, on the other hand, are not tested.
  8.  China – Short-term visitors face no limitations, while work and study visas lasting more than six months need HIV testing.
  9.  Cuba – There are no limits for short-term tourists, but students and anybody staying for more than three months must undergo tests.
  10.  Cyprus – Short trips are not restricted, however those from non-EEA countries seeking student, employment, or residence visas must be checked.
  11.  Dominican Republic – Tourists are not restricted, but work and residence visa applications must be examined.
  12.  Ecuador – Short-term tourism is not restricted, but long-term resident candidates must test negative.
  13.  Egypt – Tourists are not required to get tested, but anyone seeking employment or residency permits must be HIV-negative.
  14.  Equatorial Guinea – Travel to Equatorial Guinea is becoming increasingly difficult for people of all ages. It is unclear what the limits are at this time, but HIV+ persons are likely to be barred from entering.
  15.  Honduras – There are no limits for visitors, however there are for work permit applicants.
  16.  Iran – Visitors entering Iran with stays of up to three months face no restrictions. Longer stays, as well as all applicants for employment or residence permits, must submit a negative test result.
  17.  Iraq – With the exception of diplomats, all visitors staying for more than 10 days are required to be tested for HIV, and positive individuals are likely to be deported.
  18.  Israel – The only limits in Israel appear to be for individuals seeking work permits.
  19.  Jordan – HIV+ persons are not permitted to enter Jordan. For visits of up to 30 days, no tests are necessary. People seeking work permits or residence will be tested within one month of their arrival and deported if the test results are positive.
  20.  Kazakhstan – Kazakhstan’s only limitation is that candidates for residence must show that they are HIV-negative.
  21.  Kuwait – For trips of up to 90 days, no testing is necessary; however, for visas of more than 90 days, the applicant must be tested for HIV. Cases that test positive will be deported.
  22.  Kyrgyzstan – There are no limits for trips of less than 60 days. Stays of more over 60 days may need a test, and all work visa candidates must be tested.
  23.  Lebanon – There are no limitations on immigration, however migrant labourers must pass an HIV test.
  24.  Malaysia – There are no limitations on short-term trips, but longer-term stays require a negative HIV test, with deportation possible if the result is positive.
  25.  Marshall Islands – Tourists visiting for fewer than 30 days have no limitations, while longer-term stays may necessitate testing.
  26.  North Korea – There are no immigration restrictions, but if the authorities learn of your HIV+ status, you will most likely be deported.
  27.  Oman – Short-term trips are not restricted, however longer-term stays and work permits are subject to a negative test. Cases that test positive will be deported.
  28.  Qatar – Anyone staying for more than 30 days must get an HIV test.
  29.  Russia – There are no limitations for persons travelling for fewer than 90 days. HIV testing is mandatory for multiple-entry visas and stays of more than 90 days. Other nations’ medical certifications demonstrating a negative test can be presented.
  30.  Solomon Islands – HIV testing are mandatory for visitors staying in the Solomon Islands for more than 90 days. HIV+ persons are more likely to be denied entry and deported.
  31.  Suriname – Suriname’s position is currently unknown. Visitors from Eastern Europe, Africa, and Asia appear to be required to certify that they are HIV negative, and employers are also likely to seek an HIV test.
  32.  Syria – Tourist visas, including 6-month multi-entry visas, do not need testing. Work and residence permits, on the other hand, do.
  33.  Tunisia – Tunisia’s position is unknown. Tourists who travel for a short period of time are unlikely to be limited, but employment and residency permits need a health check, which may result in refusal in HIV+ situations.
  34.  United Arab Emirates – The UAE does not screen travelers who want to remain for less than 60 days, but screening is required for everyone else. Tests performed outside of the UAE are not recognized, and anyone found to be HIV positive will be deported.
  35.  Yemen – Yemen prohibits all HIV+ people from entering the nation. While testing is necessary for longer stays, such as students, workers, refugees, and immigrants, visitors visiting for less than 90 days are not examined.
TRENDING:   10 Countries With Perfect Climate and Low Cost Living
Previous article10 Hardest Countries to Visit in the World
Next articleGhana’s Capital City “Accra” Named UNESCO World Book Capital 2023
An International Stringer, PR Expert, Travel & Active Adventure Reporter, and Fashion Contributor, Living in a Country of Which Divides the World Into Two Equal Halves - The Republic of Ghana to Be Exact. I Can Be South African Sometimes, and Can Be Visibly Spotted in the City of Gold, Johannesburg. I AM AN ERA!